Why have you taken a £1 charge?

You may occasionally notice that we have authorised a £1 charge on your account before actually taking the total amount for your order.

  • This is a pre authorisation code which can be explained by the below:
  • Pre-authorisation (pre-auth) is a banking term denoting a practice wherein money is not taken from the payee's account at the moment the transaction is made. The amount charged is instead made unavailable on that customers’ account – known as an authorisation hold.
  • Pre-authorisation is normally valid for 1- 5 days on debit cards, after this point the funds are released by your bank or building society back into your account.
  • We use Pre-authorisation period to make additional security checks on the card and the cardholder, to make sure that the transaction is not fraudulent. It also allows us time to make sure that the item/s being sold is/are in stock and ready to be shipped.